Barengi Gadjin

The Barengi Gadjin Land Council is one of the Registered Aboriginal Parties (RAPs) determined by the Victorian Aboriginal Heritage Council. The council office is based in Horsham. The area boundaries can be seen in pink on the adjacent map. The area takes in all or part of the following local government areas: Hindmarsh, Yarriambiack, Buloke, Northern Grampians, Horsham and West Wimmera. The boundary begins in Ouyen township at the junction of the Mallee Highway with the Calder Highway and includes the following towns: Sea Lake, Hopetoun, Warracknabeal, Kaniva, Nhill, Dimboola, Birchip, Murtoa, Donald, Horsham, Glenorchy, Natimuk and Edenhope.

The Barengi Gadjin Land Council describes themselves:

'BGLC represents Traditional Owners from the Wotjobaluk, Jaadwa, Jadawadjali, Wergaia and Jupagulk family groups, who were recognised in the 2005 Native Title Consent Determination, the first in south-eastern Australia.

We are the Prescribed Body Corporate for the Wotjobaluk claim area, as outlined in the Native Title Act, giving us legal authority and obligation to work on behalf of Traditional Owners.

BGLC is a Registered Aboriginal Party, as decided by the Victorian Aboriginal Heritage Council, in line with the Aboriginal Heritage Act 2006.

We are also registered Aboriginal Corporation under the CATSI Act (fed).

We have a membership of more than 200 Traditional Owners, all of whom have proven their ancestral links to one of 7 Apical Ancestors registered in the Native Title Consent Determination.'

Further Reading