Bass Coast Shire

Bass Coast Shire was formed in 1994 by the amalgamation of the former Shire of Bass and Phillip Island, parts of the former Shires of Korumburra and Woorayl, and the former borough of Wonthaggi. The new shire covers an area of 865 sq km in south-west Gippsland. The administrative centre is at Wonthaggi, 130 km south-east of Melbourne.

Bass Coast is named after George Bass (1771-1803) who explored the south-east Australian coast as far west as Western Port Bay in 1797-98. See entry on Bass Shire for further detail.

Subscribe to Bass Coast Shire