Wellington Shire

Wellington Shire (1994-) was formed in 1994 by the amalgamation of the former Shires of Alberton, Avon and Maffra, the former City of Sale, most of the former Shire of Rosedale and part of the former Shire of Bairnsdale. The shire covers an area of 10,924 sq km in central Gippsland. The administrative centre is at Sale, 195 km south-east of Melbourne.

It is named after one of the Gippsland lakes, Lake Wellington, which was probably named after the Duke of Wellington by the Gippsland explorer, Angus McMillan.

Subscribe to Wellington Shire